Sleeping crane

Sleeping crane

I recently visited a nearby bird sanctuary right after Spring Break thinking there wouldn’t be many people around…there were people everywhere. I decided to meander along one of the lesser frequented paths to distance myself from the noise and to maybe find a shy wood duck or even an owl. Instead I turned a corner and found a Sandhill Crane on the side of the path next to the bullrushes, balanced on one leg and with his beak tucked along his back between his wings. I stopped and waited while he warily sized me up with his half-open eye. He decided I was no threat and closed his eye again. I quietly skirted around him and left him to his sleep as I went off in search of that wood duck.

Comments welcome and appreciated...

