Grasshopper — before and after

grassshopper on cosmos stem, texturedgrasshopper on cosmos stem

I shot this image against a metal barn wall and apart from sharpening it a tiny bit and warming up the too grey background I didn’t do anything to it. The original image came out of the camera looking like a botanical illustration and altho I was pleased with the grasshopper,  it all looked too sterile for my taste, and it wasn’t what I intended. So I took it into PS Elements and added a couple of textures and filters, played with the lighting, and came up with something a lot warmer.

Now it looks like an old oil painting instead. It’s not my usual style, but I think it’s an improvement over the original.

What d’you think??

 

 

24 thoughts on “Grasshopper — before and after

  1. I love the warmer look too, and you’re right, the original does look like a botanical illustration. I love the artistry in both but I do like the warmer one best. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Katrina,
    I saw the black and white one on Monochrome Madness and when you said you were going to post color here for comparison I had to check it out. At first I liked the black and white one the most but then I scrolled down to the artsy one, that’s my fave now. It and B&W are dramatic.

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting. 🙂 I like all 3 versions, the B&W one turned out much more successfully than I’d anticipated. So I agree, I now like the B&W and the artsy one the best too. 🙂

      Like

      • For anyone reading the comments, Nia and I are discussing the horse eye images in the next post.
        When great lighting and a photogenic subject come together, a good shot is much easier to get. 🙂 I have good software and thoroughly enjoy playing with it. But thank you for the nice comments. 🙂

        Like

      • Didn’t see your last comment, Nia, sorry. I’ll often throw a texture at something just to see what effect it has. I don’t have Photoshop CS6, just Elements, so no fancy oil painting options, etc., but textures with masks can get me a long way towards a painterly feel. And getting a painterly feel is the thing I love to do best with my photos. 🙂 Thanks again for commenting.

        Like

    • Thank you, Nelson. I feel the same way. 🙂 I think it’s fairly obvious, but just in case… the second one is the before, I inserted them into the post in the wrong order…

      Like

    • Thank you, and you’re welcome. I particularly liked your moon over Mt Rainier image, loved the soft colours. I actually tried for the July moon rising over Mt Baker at sunset but there were too many clouds…

      Like

Comments welcome and appreciated...

