Dog portrait

Black dog head protraitClick on image for larger view.

I was out with my camera all day today, capturing bird images out at the bird sanctuary before the storm hits us later this week so I didn’t have a chance to process any recent images today. Instead you get to see that nice dog I featured a couple of weeks ago, the one that we met up in the mountains north of Lake Geneva. Such a sweet dog, here shown snuggling with her person.

I don’t usually go to the sanctuary on weekends because I prefer to go when it’s less busy, but I thought today might be okay because when I left home it was just starting to rain. But halfway to the sanctuary it began to clear off. There were some totally awesome clouds hanging over Vancouver but there was nowhere where I could pull over and capture them. By the time I got near the sanctuary the clouds were clearing off completely and it was turning into a glorious day. As a result, half of the city was out walking the dykes looking at the birds. Oh well.

My 55-250mm lens has been driving me nuts recently with the autofocus frequently not giving me good results. I usually shoot in manual mode, but with autofocus 75% of the time. I’ve been reading up on back button focusing, so without holding my breath, today I decided to give it a try. It took me a while to get used to it, as well as having to fiddle with two buttons instead of one, but by the end of the day, even though a couple of times I froze up and had to stop and think about which button was doing what, it was all feeling much more natural. More to the point, by the end of the day I LOVED focusing that way! I just have to practice the technique more so it’s totally automatic. I brought home a much  higher percentage of clear images than I’m accustomed to — when I saw them on my computer display I was delighted! I wish I’d tried this much much sooner!

 

4 thoughts on “Dog portrait

    • This dog just really appealed to me. Yes, her eyes were beautiful, I think that’s why I have so many images of her now… Thanks for visiting and commenting (and following), Cybele. 🙂

      Like

Comments welcome and appreciated...

