Geese at the beach – Monochrome Madness Week 35

flock of geese flying low over beach shallows monochromeClick on image for larger view.

I was down at the beach the other day, the tide was quite high, so not much sand, and the weather was overcast and grey. Not much going on, just some flocks of ducks, divers, and geese feeding quietly in the shallows. When this flock of geese took off and flew parallel to the beach, I had my camera set on a slow shutter speed, so I took a crack at a motion blur and came up with this image. The water was grey, the geese were dark, so this image was a logical candidate for black and white. I submitted it to Leanne Cole’s  Monochrome Madness Challenge for Week 35, which is published today.

Here’s the link to Leanne’s website so you can take a look at everyone else’s submissions. An interesting and varied collection, as usual.

13 thoughts on “Geese at the beach – Monochrome Madness Week 35

      • I saw your comment about blurred effects on MM. I personally think it can give a very artistic effect in some photos. I had tried it as well (which was already slightly blurred) on a photo in my latest post! This photo of geese was one of my favourites for this week’s MM.

        Like

      • Yes, the blurs don’t work for all images, and even on the same, appropriate image, each blur attempt can look so very different. In the case of birds in flight, you’re contending with the birds moving, the wings moving at a difference speed and direction, as well as the camera movement. I see it as a recipe for disaster, and it amazes me that anything worth looking at comes out of it all. 🙂 But when it does, I think the effect is stunning! This is my first successful, intentional panning motion blur of moving subjects, and I hope it won’t be my last! Thank you, Cybele, for ranking it among your favorites for this week’s MMC. Laura did too, and you two made my day! Thank you. 🙂 🙂

        Like

    • Oh, you just made my day, thank you, Laura! 🙂 I love it, too. It’s so much fun making them – it’s just like opening presents on Christmas morning…you never know what you’re going to get. Most of the images turn out to be useless, but you stop caring when you realize just one will make up for all the others. I’m hoping I’ll be bringing better ones to my blog in the near future. I’ve been doing scenery blurs for a couple of years, but recently someone sent me off to check out Denise Ippolito’s creative blurs, and her work has lit a fire under me, LOL!

      Like

      • Oh you are so welcome. I’ll have to google her. I’ve tried some blurs here and there, mostly double exposures. I like this kind of thing! Thank you Katrina. 🙂

        Like

Comments welcome and appreciated...

