Marina at Elgin Heritage Park

Ward’s Marina is located in Elgin Heritage Park, on the south bank of the Nicomekl River, just upstream from where it empties into Mud Bay and the waters of Georgia Straight, a little south of Vancouver, BC and also south of the massive Fraser River by just a few miles. The river here is tidal, and on those occasions when we get really low tides, the water level at the Marina can occasionally drop so much that I’ve seen a few yachts leaning on the dock. The centre channel is deep enough however to allow passage of small commercial fishing boats that dock a little further upstream.

The two regular images in the gallery are looking north-northeast and east, respectively. And then there’s one of my newest blurs, which I am quite pleased with…stationery subject blurs are a  lot more predictable than the flying bird blurs, but even so, some are more successful than others!

Click on the images for larger view.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Marina at Elgin Heritage Park

      • For now, I do. I don’t have a tripod, only a gorillapod, and as much as I’d like a decent tripod, it’s more than my budget will support… I have a couple of gull blurs that would have been impossible to get on a tripod. OTOH there’s a specific type of blur I’d like to get that I suspect is likely only possible with a tripod… But my biggest lens is only 250mm, with a honking big lens I expect a tripod would be a necessity.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I only have a travel tripod, and have always handheld any blur shots I have tried. But I’m sure someone said they used a tripod for blur shots and I was mystified. I guess it must have been a sideways rotation and that way you would restrict the blur to one plane….horizontal.

        Like

      • Or vertical… 🙂 If you’re panning a subject that is moving parallel to you and you want some degree of focus in the head of an animal, for example, it probably does really help to prevent any up/down motion. For tree blurs, it might be useful to restrict the movement to strictly up/down. I’m thinking the same applies for a hovering bird. I would expect in these scenarios having a good, -stable- tripod could be very useful. Just a guess…

        Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome and appreciated...

