In camera motion meets FX software

I think it’s fair to say that wildlife is my favorite photography subject, yet with the limited gear that I have capturing wildlife images is frequently an exercise in frustration. I cannot hope to compete with all those photographers walking around with enormous lenses who are looking for the same unique angles that I may be after. And if I do succeed in bringing home something worthwhile, I usually have to crop aggressively, leaving me with a vastly reduced image size. It can be very discouraging because I have a very limited budget which doesn’t allow for equipment upgrading (let alone any photo tours). OK yes, I took a couple of trips in the past year, but suffice to say…I owe an enormous thank you to my very generous family.

So what to do to produce images that are larger in spite of the cropping…resize in post processing and apply some kind of artistic treatment. I’m a creative person who also has a techie side. I’m completely at home on a computer and tend to play endlessly with my software’s possibilities. Creative in-camera movement combined with creative software effects of various styles can be a marriage made in heaven even when image size isn’t an issue.

Here’s a series of Great Blue Heron in-camera blur images that I captured a couple of summers ago, but they’ve just been taking up space in my photo library until this weekend, when I threw a few creative effects at them and quite liked the results.

 

 

18 thoughts on “In camera motion meets FX software

    • Thanks, Timothy. I can’t see or even hear a great blue heron without thinking “pterodactyl” especially when they’re maneuvering and their necks are somewhat extended. They look and sound so primeval, don’t they? πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I like your artistic creations and they do resemble pterodactyls. Something I try to do with photos that aren’t sharp or in focus enough to keep is to turn them into the painted look. Oil paint processing covers LOTS of imperfections! lol

    Like

    • Thank you. Yes, I do make good use of my software, but there are times when I’d just like the lenspower to get a tough shot without having to creatively process it. But I do love creative processing, so much of the time it’s okay.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent saves! They’re beautiful and would make a lovely wall collage. I recommend putting these in a “to print” folder. πŸ™‚

    I too struggle with the lack of focal length issue. I sometimes wonder if there is ever a long enough lens. I gave up trying to shoot anything outside of my focal range a number of years ago. It was too tiring being frustrated about it. I’m quite content trying to make a good image of wildlife in my focal range now. If the subject isn’t within my range I just enjoy the moment. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much! I’ll probably make up a photobook for some of my images at some point.
      Most of the time I’m fine making do with the gear that I have, but there are times when I just want to be able to get a certain shot that I could get with a longer or faster lens. I don’t lose sleep over it tho.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome and appreciated...

