Wood ducks

I finally got back out to the bird sanctuary yesterday. I have been finding every excuse under the sun to not go out with my camera in the grey, dismal weather we’ve been having but I finally gave myself a kick in the pants and off I went. There was some fog around and the ducks weren’t doing much flying. I didn’t see any geese at all, which is unusual, there are usually some Canada geese hanging around. There were the usual assembly of mallards, but also quite a few Wood ducks, Pintails and Northern Shovellers, a few of them rummaging in the shallows, most of the rest were sleeping.

I found this quartet (there’s a hen hiding behind the center drake) lurking in the same area where I captured a pair in the shadows last fall but with all the leaves gone from the shrubs this time they weren’t hiding in the undergrowth and were more visible. Because I already posted that October image, I decided to process this one with a painterly effect.

4 wood ducks, paint effect

 

 

18 thoughts on “Wood ducks

  1. Nice processing! I need a kick up the backside, I am using any excuse not to go out in the cold, very windy weather (soon to be seriously dull and grey, too). However, I need some exercise!

    Like

    • Thanks, Kathie. There are times, usually mid-summer, when that’s all we have too. The others that were there this week are winter stragglers who must have decided to take advantage of the safety of the sanctuary.

      Like

Comments welcome and appreciated...

