January color

miniature iris close-up, artistic treatment

Here in southwestern British Columbia for the most part we’ve been experiencing a super-mild winter. January has been wet and abnormally mild. And grey. Would I trade this for what eastern Canada is getting? Absolutely not! However, I’m one of those people who needs sunlight (preferably without extreme cold) so I’m really feeling the grey right now. A couple of weeks ago I bought a little pot of forced miniature iris rhizomes just coming into bud and it’s been warm enough to leave them outside on my front step. I prefer to leave them outside if possible so the flowers last longer, but I do keep an eye on what temps are forecast for overnight. This week they are in full bloom and are a welcome shot of beautiful, vibrant color that helps relieve the prevailing grey and reminds me that spring will be here soon…

 

15 thoughts on “January color

Comments welcome and appreciated...

