Salmonberry perch

song sparrow in winter
Here’s another song sparrow (Melospiza melodia) perched in a winter-dormant salmonberry thicket (Rubus spectabilis), overlooking the marsh. Because song sparrows vary in color according to region, and in this area at least I see many variations in their color, I sometimes have a difficult time positively identifying them as they can resemble other sparrows in color and size. I think I’m pretty safe in calling this one a song sparrow, however, even though s/he wasn’t singing the day I captured this image.

 

9 thoughts on “Salmonberry perch

  1. Great image!

    Yes, song sparrows are tricky to identify since there are 24 subspecies and dozens of different forms.

    According to the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, they are one of the most varried birds in North America.

    I was thinking swamp sparrow when I first looked at it, but after a quick check with the field guide, I think you are safe in calling it a song sparrow.

    Like

    • Thanks, Chris. We don’t generally get swamp sparrows around here, not to my knowledge anyway, so that would have been a bonus. But I’m still going with song sparrow. πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments welcome and appreciated...

